Justin Bieber Christmas AlbumJustin Bieber recently released his latest full-length album just in time for Christmas. “Under the Mistletoe” features both original songs by the artist and classic holiday songs. There are also a number of duets with well-known recording artists The Band Perry, Usher, Busta Rhymes, Usher, Boys II Men and Mariah Carey.
Already two singles have been released: “Mistletoe” and “The Christmas Song (Chestnuts Roasting On An Open Fire.” The complete track listing for the album includes the following:

1. Only Thing I Ever Get For Christmas
2. Mistletoe
3. The Christmas Song (Chestnuts Roasting On An Open Fire) feat. Usher
4. Santa Claus Is Coming To Town
5. Fa La La feat. Boyz II Men
6. Christmas Love
7. All I Want For Christmas Is You Duet Mariah Carey
8. Drummer Boy feat. Busta Rhymes
9. All I Want Is You
10. Fa La La (acapella) feat. Boyz II Men
11. Christmas Eve
12. Home This Christmas feat. The Band Perry
13. Silent Night
14. Pray
15. Someday At Christmas

According to Tricky Stewart, who produced two tracks on the album, Justin’s voice has obviously changed since his last record and he now has what the producer calls the “radio voice.” Apparently, Justin had a great deal of trouble recording Mariah Carey’s “All I Want for Christmas is You,” which was done in her signature high notes. While the singer would have had no difficulty doing this a year ago, his voice broke shortly before recording the song in the studio with Carey. Steve Bartels, the president of Island Def Jam, is confident that fans will enjoy the more adult sound to Justin’s singing voice, however. This album truly reflects his growth as an artist, and a person.

So how is the album doing? It managed 164,000 pre-orders and “Under the Mistletoe” actually made Billboard history. The album debuted at number 1 with 210,000 sales during the first week. This is the first time a holiday song album by a male singer has debuted at number one in the entire 55-year history of the chart. It’s also only the 8th Christmas album to hold the honor of Number One. In fact, Susan Boyle’s “The Gift” in 2010 was the only other holiday-themed album to debut at the top of the chart. So what were the other six albums to top the Billboard 200? Josh Groban’s “Noel,” Kenny G’s “Miracles – The Holiday Album,” Bing Crosby’s “Merry Christmas,” Mitch Miller’s “Christmas Sing-Along with Mitch” and “Holiday Sing Along with Mitch,” and of course Elvis Presley’s “Elvis’ Christmas Album.”

This album also gives Bieber another distinction: the young artist is now the first solo recording artist to have three releases at the top of the Billboard before the age of 18.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

seven × = 14

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>